Made it!

I got through the birthday party just fine!  I made 2 cakes, dished up ice cream, made homemade frosting, and didn’t even lick my fingers!  I really didn’t even care about the sugary desserts.  I am truly proud of myself..

My kids are really trying hard not to eat sugar except on special occasions.  I feel we’re making real progress, though we have not been perfect.

It’s an experiment that will continue for years, but I believe it has been worth it.  It has been 2 months – just like the one other time I gave up sugar, and just like last time, the weight is starting to decrease.  My body must need to test me to see if I’m serious about quitting.  I’m not nieive enough to think I’ll never struggle with sugar again.  I just happen to be in a place that I could resist this time.

 

~ by familyfavoritefoods on July 31, 2011.

One Response to “Made it!”

  1. Good for you! I am trying to help our family do the same. I’m not for cutting out all sugar. And if my son does get some sugar, I just make sure to brush and floss like recommended on this Mom’s Guide (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It’s what got me paying attention to what I feed my son in the first place, not just for his teeth but overall health.

Leave a Reply

 
