Unrealistic?

Well, I am a little disappointed in my success with my kids.  They did so well the first month, and I thought they were doing well after that, but found out they hadn’t been completely honest with me.  Unrealistically, I was surprised.  I shouldn’t be.  I have been a huge closet eater in my life, but since I’m doing so well off sugar, I had the unrealistic expectation that they would as well.

In their defense, they have cut way, way down on their sugar intake, so I need to reassess my expectations.  I am talking it over with them to have an occasional cheat day where they can eat a dessert.  I think that’s reasonable in this world of sugar.  It’s impossible to stop wanting something that is on TV constantly, billboards, magazines, every occasion, etc.  So, I’m thinking about a monthly cheat day and they can still earn their prizes.  Or, they can have a weekly cheat day and just cut down their intake.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do, but I know I’m going to keep trying to keep sugar out of my home and their bodies.  It’s worth it – especially for my ADHD son.

As for me, I need to get the processed food out of my body.  Since I’ve given up sugar, I’ve increased my intake of chips and crackers.  Sometimes, I’m just hungry and can’t find a quick, easy meal.

I will conquer this!

~ by familyfavoritefoods on July 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
