Back on Track

Amazingly, after the recent setbacks, we are back on track.  I have learned some things about setting goals with kids – especially if the goals are as big as giving up sugar.  I learned that goals need to be more frequent.  Instead of one large prize at the end of 3 months, it’s more motivating to them to have smaller prizes every month.

It was also surprising to me how easy it was for them to get back on track.  I thought it would take weeks to get back to where they were in their craving status, but that’s not true for them.  I’m the one who would take weeks, not them.  Their attitudes are improving about the whole thing, and they seem to not be suffering as much as they were last month.

Somehow, I have made it through without cheating at all.  In fact, I don’t even have a desire to cheat.  Cutting up brownies and Rice Krispie Treats was a breeze for me.  It didn’t even tempt me.

One thing I would suggest for sure it to provide a lot of gum.  That seems to help when there are treats around.

I’m excited that things have turned out so well and hope they keep it up.

~ by familyfavoritefoods on July 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
