Changing Habits

Tonight I went to a movie with my son.  This event usually consists of popcorn with extra butter and a large soda.  Since we’re on our no sugar experiment, we had to go for the movie, not the popcorn.  Success!

My daughter and husband went to a rodeo where the norm is kettle corn and a Snowie.  They, too, had success.

These successes were not without disappointment and discouragement.  Habits are hard to change.  We’re trying to reprogram ourselves to require sweets at every event.  Well, I’m trying to reprogram the family.  There’s definitely resistance from the participants.  If I think back to my childhood and when I raised my older kids, we just didn’t do that stuff.  They never expected it, so we had no bad habits to break.

I’m finding that if I eat and soon afterwards stick a piece of gum in my mouth, my snacking is non-existent.  I eat continually.

I’ve been really tired and sleepy the last 2 days.  Perhaps it’s from a lack of caffeine from the Monster drinks.  I don’t know, but I need my energy back!

We’re getting through this a day at a time.  Sometimes we want to quit – especially when there are sweets around and we’re hungry.  We have been doing well, so I don’t want to quit.  My son’s ADHD has significantly improved with the change in diet, so I’m very hopeful.

Stay with it!

 

~ by familyfavoritefoods on June 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
