Not a Good Day

I started out my day doing really well – fruit for breakfast.  As the day went on, I got more and more snacky, and since we had leftover tortilla chips and guacamole, I succumbed.  That led me down the path of eating everything in sight…except sugar.

One of my favorite books reminded me of a few things.  In the book, Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin, they talk about the dangers of caffeine and of artificial sweeteners.  I realized that my Monster habit must go!  I know it helps to give me the energy I lack from living on sugar, but it really is not worth it.

I have been avoiding sweeteners due to the fact that I want to lose the need for sugary sweet treats and taste.  There are a few choices that are acceptable, if I absolutely need to sweeten something.  The authors recommend stevia and agave nectar.  I do have both on hand in case I decide to have a cup of herbal tea or something, but as far as needing to eat a sweet treat, I need to avoid that at all costs!

I loved the review I got from listening to the book again. It’s got some offensive language, but if you can handle it, it is packed with great information and it certainly makes me laugh.

The most important message I get out this book is the reminder that the way we eat is absolutely our own responsibility, so take charge!  I know it’s obvious, but it helps to hear someone say it so bluntly.  They take away all of my excuses.

I have the relay race coming up on Friday and Saturday, and it seems that I always, always sabotage myself.  I just give up on trying to be in shape for the race because of being so out of shape.  Typical.  It doesn’t help that I can’t really exercise while I’m resting up for the race.  Yes, I know.  More excuses.

I’m really disappointed in myself, so I hope I can be more prepared with a plan for meals and snacks tomorrow.

Still, 8 days and sugar free!

~ by familyfavoritefoods on June 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
