Day 1: Sugar Free

My first day was definitely a challenge.  I was expecting to crave sugar all day, but it was more a habit problem.  I thought of eating something sweet probably 100 times before lunch.  I’d remember what I’m doing and drop it – no problem.  As I was driving places, I’d think of stopping somewhere to grab a cookie, donut, drink and again, I’d remember and drop it.

I’ve bribed my kids and my oldest grandson into this with me.  My grandson (7 years old) has backed out because his mom told him about all the things he’d miss out on.  They, like many of us, have made most of their outings based around food.  A walk to the shaved ice, going out for ice cream, movies with popcorn, drinks, and candy.  It’s so addicting to have those foods – especially when we attend those familiar places.

I went to lunch with my friend today, and I saw all the desserts, but I refrained surprisingly easily.

I expect that tomorrow will be a challenge, but I have made it through my first day and I’m proud!

~ by familyfavoritefoods on June 6, 2011.

2 Responses to “Day 1: Sugar Free”

  1. I’m so happy to have come across your entries. You have helped me renew my commitement to a healthier me. Recently I have been made aware of and have been reading up on eating healhier – “cleaner”. Natural, no meats, organic, etc. It’s something I’ve never known before and what I’ve realized now is that it’s a HUGE world that I know nothing about. Your posting has reminded me that I need to regroup and remember to take one day at a time. And, to not give up after a slip up. That it’s my choice as to whether I get back on that horse or not. Thank you.

    • Janet,
      If you’re like me, it really helps to do it along with someone else.

      I, too, have been cutting meat and dairy out of my diet and have done a lot of reading about how our food is raised. I’ve been appalled and have decided that for the health of my family, as well as myself, I’m not going to support an industry that cares more about making money than our health. I’ve been meat-free for over a year. I thought that was hard, but the sugar seems to be keeping me back until now – with the support of those around me and who read my posts.

      Thank you for your comment, and Good luck!
      Kathy

Leave a Reply

 
