Giving Myself the Gift of Misery

I didn’t do much for my birthday today…except eat sweets.  The See’s I had this morning tasted so good that while I was shopping near a store, I stopped and got more.  Then my sweet daughter and grandkids gave me a box of chocolates.  They know I love them and wanted to get me just the ones I love.

I have trained my family well.  They all know I love chocolate and it really does make me happy and I literally feel the calming effects of chocolate.  They’re very thoughtful and want to get me something special.  I do get excited about it.

Now I don’t only feel bloated and fat, but I actually get little pains in my arms.  I feel tired and lethargic.  I know what is happening, but since I’m giving up sugar on June 6th, I’m taking advantage of the time I have left to eat what I want.  It sure doesn’t make sense if I think about it, so I don’t.

I’m still reading Sugar Blues and I’m learning a lot about what sugar does to our bodies and minds, and I’m learning about how sugar came to be.  I just received a book I ordered called Overcoming Sugar Addiction by Karly Randolph Pitman.  I can’t wait to start reading about how to get off the stuff.

~ by familyfavoritefoods on May 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
