Get Ready…

The Problem

I am addicted to sugar.  No question about it.  My body has become accustomed to sugar getting it through the day.  Chocolate is my drug of choice.

I have tried many times to go days without sugar, but I always give in when I get hungry or get around something sweet. I went 2 months without it a couple of years ago, but gave into Christmas candy.

I am a master at rationalizing. I’ve even used my kids as an excuse to make some dessert.  “I’m going to make some cookies for the kids since their not on a diet.  I don’t want to deprive them.”  Sometimes I’ll make a treat for a sick friend.  How stupid do I think I am.  I make cookies so I can have them!  That’s the real truth.

The Plan

I am going to take the next 3 weeks to read everything I can about sugar, the addiction, the history, the risks, etc.  I need a reason to rethink my relationship with sugar, which I have always known is unhealthy.

On June 6th, I’m going become clean and give up the sugar. I know it’s not going to be pretty – for me or my family, but I’ve got to do it.  There are many who give up drugs, alcohol and smoking, so I know it can be done.  Anyone interested in joining me?

I want to be able to stand up somewhere and say, “I have been clean for 60 days, or 90 days, or 2 years!

I weighed in at 163 lbs this morning.  I tried to have a healthy breakfast.  I made a green smoothie!  The only problem is that I ate 3 Magic Cookie Bars while I was preparing it, and have had 3 more since I drank my healthy drink.  Now, instead of feeling energized and proud of myself, I feel bloated and guilty.

I’m starting a book called Sugar Blues by William Dufty today.  It’s all about how sugar came to be and all the bad stuff it brought with it.  I’ve started it before, but I’m ready to study it now.  It’s packed full of facts about sugar.

I’m looking forward to June 6th, and I know I’ll be eating everything in sight until then, but I’m determined.  Join me on my journey and let’s help each other!

~ by familyfavoritefoods on May 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Get Ready…”

  1. This is Karly, writing in to give you a big cheer of support as you embark on a sugar free life. Thank you for the generous link.

    If I can encourage you with anything it would be this: to look at your sugar addiction as something tender, something precious, and something in need of kindness. It’s kindness that enabled me to stop eating sugar, and it’s the path that I teach others.

    You can learn more about my work at http://www.sugar-addiction-book.com.

    I’m very proud of your courage and your brave, open heart. That brave heart is what will guide you home.

    Wishing you many blessings – to your health, wholeness and freedom,

    Karly

Leave a Reply

 
